My own work

I’m usually on here criticising or waxing lyrical about other people. Today I thought I would upload a few of my own pieces. It seems only fair to make myself as vulnerable as the people I talk about.

Recently I’ve been fascinated by the surface of the Thames outside our flat and how you can possibly capture its volatile and changeable nature in an image. Roni Horn is someone who has caught my interest for that exact reason – her photographs of the surface of the Thames are covered in so many footnotes, each linking to a related thought or reference. The surface conceals the thing but the thing makes itself known and heard in the ripples and lumps and writhing waves.

I’m also lucky enough to live somewhere which gets fantastic light, especially in the evening. I’ve been playing with the effects that the light can create including the ones you would normally guard against such as lensflare.

Finally there is still a VAST element of just taking pictures and seeing what turns out well.

Genesis, 2009

Genesis, 2009

Thames Surface, 2009

Thames Surface, 2009

Red-Faced, 2009

Red-Faced, 2009

Filmstrip, 2009

Filmstrip, 2009

Feedback is welcomed and appreciated but by no means compulsory!

