Louise Bourgeois, 1911-2010

Louise Bourgeois, originally uploaded by platoisboring.


Louise Bourgeois died today at the Beth Israel Medical Center in Manhattan after suffering a heart attack at the weekend. She was 98.

She’s probably best known for her giant spider sculptures (including Maman which towered over visitors to Tate Modern) but I have a personal attachment to her Femme Maison drawings from 1946-7. Additionally, Tate Modern’s 2007 retrospective of her work marked the first time my boyfriend had accompanied me to a gallery and enjoyed it – something for which I am truly grateful.

The photo here is of a work which I saw in Regents Park as part of the Frieze Art Fair. I think it captures a little of the sexual, the vulnerable and the threatening which characterised her work.

