Putting a galling Gallic cock amongst the pigeons

Hanh/Cock - Katharina Fritsch (Fourth Plinth 2013)

Hanh/Cock - Katharina Fritsch (Fourth Plinth 2013)

This is the sculpture to sit atop the fourth plinth of Trafalgar Square in 2013.

I remember commenting on it a while back but cannot for the life of me remember where I wrote it so here are a couple of thoughts:

1. Love the colour and the idea of injecting something so bright into Trafalgar Square – which is a monument to greyness – BUT when viewed from below against a brighter sky than we have now, will the blue really pop? I know it’s that gorgeous Yves Klein-esque blue (not sure if it’s that exact shade) but yeah, blue on blue? I’d have gone for green.

2. Obviously there’s a certain amount of “OMG it’ll be like we never won the war against the French – Nelson would be furious etc etc” going on in the official site’s comments section but I don’t think that’s such a bad thing. I get uppity about both nationalism AND public monuments to war so putting a big galling Gallic cock amongst the pigeons isn’t something I’m preparing to shed any tears over.

Are you amused or horrified? Let me know in the comments as per…

