Super-disappointed by the supermoon?

If there’s anyone out there feeling cheated by the supermoon – seriously, from friends’ tweets I was expecting it to be so huge it was about to crash into the earth in the manner of Majora’s Mask – you should think about investing in this artwork by Michael Rakowitz.

From the Earth to the Moon, Telescope - Michael Rakowitz (2009)

From the Earth to the Moon, Telescope - Michael Rakowitz (2009)

The telescope is constructed from toy packaging and is aimed squarely at a photocopied A4 picture of the moon which, looking through the ‘eyepiece’, seems massive.

I’m fairly sure I can’t afford to buy it for myself, especially not on a whim, but I’m considering mocking one up myself to combat my supermoon disappointment.

Majora's Mask - evil moon

What a supermoon SHOULD look like...

 

