For Piet’s Sake – Mondrian art from Mondrian books

Browsing ahead through lists of exhibitions I saw London Original Print Fair looming ahead at the Royal Academy (April 19-21, by the way) and decided to find out a bit more. The press site offered some images including this:

For Piet's Sake - Phil Shaw (2010)

For Piet's Sake - Phil Shaw (2010)

I absolutely love it. Mondrian’s art recreated using books about Mondrian’s art (or at least namechecking him in the title). This appeals to the side of me that loves anything meta (a hangover from my student days), the side of me that arranges things by colour and shape, and the side of me that used to work in a library.

I’ll be going along to the Print Fair see what other works take my fancy but in the meantime here are some other artworks from Phil Shaw‘s Bookshelves and Stacks series. He’s currently represented by Rebecca Hossack Gallery.

Endarkenment - Phil Shaw (2007)

Endarkenment - Phil Shaw (2007)

(Click on the image to see the larger size – the titles are important in Shaw’s work)

Fiction 2 - Phil Shaw (2008)

Fiction 2 - Phil Shaw (2008)

