Just like starting over – Yarisal and Kublitz

Last time I wrote about Yarisal and Kublitz it was to talk about a destructive vending machine art project. This time it’s because I’m rather taken with their work ‘Just Like Starting Over’.

Initially I thought it was quite dark – the stars and stripes on the floor made me think of the moment the morning after a party when you look around and you realise that everything that was beautiful and magical by fairylights is just junk cobbled together with glitter and glue.

Then I read a post on The Fox Is Black which described the work as akin to the glass half empty/half full scenario. The author, Bobby Solomon, sees the opposite to what I did – the chance to rebuild and be creative. I’m glad because I find his optimism uplifting.

