Martin Boyce wins 2011 Turner Prize

Hooray! My personal favourite from the Turner Prize 2011 shortlist, Martin Boyce, won the £25,000.

MARTIN BOYCE night terrace - lantern chains - forgotten seas - sky, Courtesy of The Modern Institute / Toby Webster Ltd, Glasgow, Photo: Keith Hunter

If you’re looking at this post and wondering who on earth Martin Boyce is and why I think he deserved to win, here’s what I said when I did a rundown of this year’s nominees:

Martin Boyce has a main focus on sculpture but often incorporates other media – text, photographic works, lighting and occasionally sound – to create installations.

You’ll often get a flavour of a public space from Boyce through references to parks and playgrounds and so on. The artist was particularly influenced by the concrete trees of Joel and Jan Martel. Boyce’s own work with concrete trees has, over time and through repetition and iteration, become a pattern – almost a print – whose lines can lend themselves to new interpretations and even a typeface.

It’s a modern form of Modernism which feels ever so slightly like being inside an urban stylised animation. He’s also the artist I would most like to see walk off with the prize.

Martin Boyce on his installations: “Of course I have to make [the objects] but I want the viewer to feel like they’ve found them. And I want to be able to get as close to that as possible as well.”

