Céleste Boursier-Mougenot, Barbican

Currently I am steeling myself to see  Céleste Boursier-Mougenot‘s installation at the Barbican’s Curve.

For those of you who don’t know what I’m talking about it’s an artwork where a flock of zebra finches go about their daily business in an arena kitted out with electric guitars and other instruments. The idea is that the birds will create a kind of organic soundscape. Pretty cool no?

© Extracts from Ariane Michel’s film, Les Oiseaux de Céleste. Copyright Galerie Xippas, Ariane Michel and Céleste Boursier-Mougenot, 2008

I have actually tried twice before to see this piece but my fear of birds has always got the better of me – the phrase “walk-through aviary” could have crawled out of one of my nightmares!

I’m hoping that this weekend will yield better results – any words of encouragement from people who have already seen it would be much appreciated!

